I Deserve It

Why this phrase will ruin your life.

Tickle Heart
3 min readJun 21, 2024
Photo by Jorgen Hendriksen on Unsplash

I’ve been on a diet for a week; I want an ice cream sunday. I DESERVE IT. This week I got a promotion. I’m going to buy a Range Rover. I deserve it. It’s been a tough week at work; let’s go clubbing and get blasted. We deserve it.

We can find almost any excuse to discontinue on the more difficult path. After all, don’t we deserve to do what we want when we want?

What are we thinking when we say “I deserve it”?

The entire time you’re on a diet, you think about all the foods you want to but can’t eat. It’s a grueling week not to eat potato chips, ice cream, and soda. During the week, while your body is losing 5 pounds of fluid that was caused by inflammation from eating a crappy diet, you can’t wait to go back to eating those items. You’ve talked yourself into needing and wanting to consume food that isn’t healthy or nutritious for you.

By the way, this food is addicting, and not understanding that fact will destroy your health. Not everyone grows up with parents who know this. Furthermore, if you’ve grown up in “poverty”, you didn’t have the same choices as someone with more income.

If you’re lucky enough to learn what good nutrition looks like, will you change how you eat? Permanently? Or will you make an excuse and continue to think…

--

--

Tickle Heart

I use the keyboard and the collar to deliver pain and pleasure. I'm quite eclectic in my subjects; my favorites include satire, erotica and business.